Grammar Girl!

Week two on the topics of the week is about Grammar Girl’s website. Her topic on her page was “Is “I’m loving it” Proper Grammar?”

1. I learned from reading Grammar Girl’s post that there are dynamic and static verbs. Forgive me English teachers, but I just don’t remember learning these types of verbs. Dynamic is when there is an action or process. Static verbs state something that is.

2. What surprised me is that Grammar Girl goes on to say that there are some verbs like “to be” that can be used as dynamic and static verbs. What also surprises me is that so many media outlets use incorrect grammar to relate information to us. This got me to lead to thinking about the fact that if we see repeatedly information in incorrect grammar form, will we know what is correct grammar?

3. What I would like to know more about is the reasoning behind McDonald’s slogan of “I’m loving it”. Yes it is grammatically incorrect, but many media phrases are grammatically incorrect and it causes attention. Some  questions I might have for McDonald’s would be were you trying to go for a certain group of economic status with this slogan or educational level? What was your slogan before “I’m Loving It”? And how does the slogan compare in sales to the one you currently use now? Will you change or reform the slogan? If so when might that change take place? Has this slogan effected children’s grammar for everyday jargon? How have children and adults been influenced in their purchases by this slogan? I am in no disagreement with Grammar Girl, in that the McDonald’s slogan “I’m Loving It” is grammatically incorrect. I just hope that we do not fall into the acceptance that it is okay to use such phrases in everyday language.

1 Comment

Filed under Topic of the Week PRCA 3330

One response to “Grammar Girl!

  1. MARANDA BUTLER

    I AM HORRIBLE AT GRAMMAR. IT WAS ACTUALLY ONE OF MY LEAST FAVORITE SUBJECTS IN SCHOOL. I LOVE TO WRITE BUT I HATE HAVING TO LEARN/KNOW ALL OF THE GRAMMAR RULES. IT SEEMS LIKE THERE ARE JUST SO MANTY. THE GRAMMAR GIRL WEBSITE IS A GREAT REFERENCE TOOL FOR HELPFUL GRAMMAR RULES. YOU DO NOT EVEN HAVE TO BUY A BOOK , BECAUSE SHE HAS A LOT OF INFORMATION ON HER SITE FOR FREE!

Leave a Reply

