How Comments Effect Blogs

Question or TOW Three: Why are comments such an integral part of blogs? What advice would you offer on writing effective blog comments?

Comments are such an integral part of blogs because if you disagree or agree with the information of the blog, you can state your voice. The comment you leave could also help the author of the blog by providing more information on the topic or a better source for the blogger to attain his own information. It seems that most blog comments are negative. I can relate that if I agree with the blog it is hard to write more than “I agree”. Usually the blog has already informed us on all of the possible research that is the most relevant or interesting. So it can be hard to add in positive comments that can have more of a meaning than “I agree”.  At the same time I do value constructive criticism and like to see a positive comment.

As for helping others on blog commenting, personally I am new at this too!  I would hope though that the comment is free of any grammar errors and that you comment by saying just more than “I agree”. If you are commenting make sure the information that you are writing in your comment is factual, reliable, and truthful information. Do not carry on a conversation that is not about the blog information. Comments for the specific topic are supposed to be for that topic. If you need to send the author of the blog private information do so in an email. If you also have a blog, it is nice to have a Gravatar. A Gravatar is a specific signature that is present when you leave a comment. It is nice to have so that others can recognize who you are.

2 Comments

Filed under Topic of the Week PRCA 3330

2 responses to “How Comments Effect Blogs

  1. michellev21

    Brigitte,

    “I agree” with your blog post! I too am new to the blogging world and therefore, have never commented on anyones blog before. I have however, read blogs and comments. The one thing I have noticed as well is that the majority of comments are negative. I think this is because when you read something you disagree with, you tend to get heated and want to challenge it. On the other hand, when you read something you agree with, it is nice, but not as provoking as the latter.
    I also agree with your blogging tip that grammar is very important. When you misspell a word or use incorrect grammar, your credibility as a blogger decreases.
    I look forward to reading more of your blog posts, Brigitte. Keep it up!

  2. MARANDA BUTLER

    I LOVE LOGGIN ONTO MY BLOG AND SEEING THAT I HAVE BLOG COMMENTS FROM READERS. ALL BLOGGERS WRITE SO THAT OTHERS CAN READ THE INFORMATION AND MAKE USE OF IT. HOW ELSE ARE WE GOING TO KNOW THAT BLOGGERS ARE READING UNLESS THEY COMMENT!

Leave a Reply

